Review: All My Friends Are Dead – Avery Monsen and Jory John

Read: 5
To Go: 95

Book List
1. Happy Ever After – Nora Roberts
2. The Bone Cage – Angie Abdou
3. Unless – Carol Shields
4. No Rules…Just Write – C. Noelle Susice
5. All My Friends Are Dead – Avery Monsen and Jory John


Nabbed this photo from the Chapters website…apparently the book is on sale for 9% off now.

I’ve been diligently working my way through Terry Fallis’s The Best Laid Plans, but it’s taking me some time. However, I did finish a book in the interim. It was a cheery little number I picked up at Urban Behaviour and skimmed through with my friends Karley and Alton, entitled All My Friends Are Dead, by Avery Monsen and Jory John.

Okay so basically it was a picture book that I would guess is attempting to be slightly satirical of a children’s story, that bounced back and forth between a bunch of animals or humans whose friends were all dead or dying, and worked with a lot of puns and clever humour. Karley, Alton and I all had a really good laugh at it. It’s one of those kitschy reads that’s really tempting to get, just to have.

I didn’t actually buy it, though, because I’m a broke university student and I read the whole thing in the store so there was no point. But I finished it, so it counts! And I would, in fact, recommend it for a quick read to cheer you up.

Next novel: The Best Laid Plans – Terry Fallis

– Kelsey

4 thoughts on “Review: All My Friends Are Dead – Avery Monsen and Jory John

  1. Hey Kelsey! I just saw your very nice review of our book, “All my friends are dead” … and I wanted to say thanks, nine months late or whatever. We definitely appreciate it. Also, I like your site. Adding it to my bookmarks …
    Best,
    Jory

    • Hey Jory! Thanks for the comment — always love it when I hear from authors directly — and not a problem. i thought the book was adorable. 🙂 (Where’d you get the inspiration?)

      Also, sweet! Thanks. 🙂

      Kelsey

  2. Hey Kelsey,
    Actually, we wrote up a blog post for the Chronicle Books website, a while back, called “From Button to Book,” which is a true-to-life, harrowing account of how “All my friends are dead” came to be: http://www.chroniclebooks.com/blog/2010/08/03/from-button-to-book-the-evolution-of-all-my-friends-are-dead/

    Best,
    Jory
    P.S. It’s not actually harrowing.
    P.P.S. Sequel in a couple of months! Woot! http://www.amazon.com/All-Friends-Are-Still-Dead/dp/1452106967

    • Hey Jory,
      I’m about two weeks late to the party, so my sincerest apologies for not responding faster. Took a quick gander at the journey to AMFAD and laughed along the way. Funny to think a button inspired all this. Very cool. 🙂

      Looking forward to the sequel!
      – Kelsey

Leave a Reply

