Review: No Rules…Just Write – C. Noelle Susice

Read: 4
To Go: 96

Book List
1. Happy Ever After – Nora Roberts
2. The Bone Cage – Angie Abdou
3. Unless – Carol Shields
4. No Rules…Just Write – C. Noelle Susice

Disclaimer: the author of this book is a personal friend, and her novel is self-published online. I read and reviewed it as a favour to her, but it doesn’t lessen the truth of my comments.

Literally hours after finishing Unless, I sat down at my computer to read C. Noelle Susice’s compilation of poetry and prose, entitled No Rules…Just Write. I didn’t intend to go to bed until I finished it, but, luckily for me, I didn’t have to stay up much later than I’d originally planned.

It was great! (I hope no one’s getting sick of my positive reviews.)

If you know me, you know I’m not a poet – and, because of that, I have so much respect for people who can write poetry, and write it well. And that Susice can! I was particularly engrossed in The Faerie Ring, which almost read like a song (I could hear the beat in my head), and had such striking imagery that I felt I was dancing along with the faeries in the poem!

The compilation ended on a rather melancholy note (not exactly…it was one of the last pieces, though), with the short story The Irish Road. The story was written with such vivid language that it was like I was inside of it, as a third party observer, seeing everything. It was sad and bittersweet, and incredibly touching.

I’d definitely recommend No Rules…Just Write, as a quick but emotionally stirring read. It’s an online buy, which you can find here.

Next book: All My Friends Are Dead – Avery Monsen and Jory John

– Kelsey

Leave a Reply

