Review: The Bone Cage – Angie Abdou

Read: 2
To Go: 98

Book List
1. Happy Ever After – Nora Roberts
2. The Bone Cage – Angie Abdou

(Book suggestions are still welcome; I have quite a few of my own to go through, but would love any ideas for more that you could give me.)

So after excitedly jumping on the bandwagon with this challenge, I got all gung-ho and decided I was going to start on my second book, The Bone Cage by Angie Abdou, shortly after writing up my first review.

The Bone Cage details the struggle of two Canadian athletes – a swimmer named Sadie and a wrestler named Digger – who qualify for the Olympics, and must spend the following six months training.

After I was seated in my living room with my salmon sandwich and a drink of ginger ale, I started to read. And read. And read.

I couldn’t put the book down!

I have to admit, I was pretty surprised: I’d committed to reading the five Canada Reads 2011 books, but I didn’t expect much from Abdou’s novel purely because it was sport literature. Don’t take that the wrong way: I knew it was going to be good, purely because it had been put forth as a contender for book of the decade, but I didn’t expect to like it since I’m not much a fan of sports lit. But The Bone Cage proved me completely wrong.

I honestly have absolutely no complaints; the narration style – third-person present tense – was really great, and made the characters seem more real, and relatable. The novel itself was funny, sweet, sad, and heart-achingly beautiful all-throughout.

Love, love, love. I really recommend picking up a copy of The Bone Cage because it’s a great read – and it’ll be a quick one, because, if you’re anything like me, you won’t want to put the book down.

Next novel: Unless by Carol Shields.

ETA: On my original posting of this review, Angie Abdou herself stopped by to comment. Star-struck, much? :]

– Kelsey

Leave a Reply

