Review: The Heart of Devin MacKade — Nora Roberts

Read: 83
To Go: 17

Book List
81. The Next Always — Nora Roberts
82. The Single Girl’s To-Do List — Lindsey Kelk
83. The Heart of Devin MacKade — Nora Roberts

 Devin MacKade knew it was his destiny to serve and protect the small town of Antietam, Maryland. And he always suspected his future should have little Cassie Connor in it. After Cassie married the wrong man, Devin tried to convince himself there would be other women, other loves. Now, after Cassie’s divorce, Devin can finally follow his heart. But can Cassie follow hers?

I was debating whether to include this as a full, separate novel, because it’s part of a two-volume book that my mom lent me. However, after a quick Google search led me to see that the book has its very own cover (and a nice one, at that!), I decided to call it legitimate. Besides, it’s over 200 pages! I think that’s fair.

Unfortunately for me I stumbled into the middle of a series (literally right into the middle of a four-book series), so I was struggling a little to get my bearings and catch up. But when I did, I generally liked it. The story had just the right amount of cute children, romance, and suspense. The only thing that struck me was that the storyline was, barring one minor detail, the exact same as The Next Always. In the newer book (TNA), Roberts was able to stretch the plot on for longer, but it was as if I was reading the exact same novel.

I mean, I know that being a romance novelist, and a serial romance novelist at that, can be tricky when it comes to finding unique plots. But the exact same one, separated by a couple of years? I’m disappointed.

On another quick note, I thought it a little funny, and mostly pathetic, that Devin goes around proclaiming that he’ll never hurt Cassandra the way her jerk of an ex husband did (and to clarify, ‘hurt’ in this instance is domestic abuse — physical, emotional, and mental). He then follows up these statements with subtle manipulation and a wee bit of emotional abuse. Excellent.

Well done.

Next book: The Fall of Shane MacKade — Nora Roberts (the second story in my two-volume book).

– Kelsey


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s