Feature: Top 10 Tuesday — The Best Chick-Flicks

As promised, I’m back to finish off my love-themed Top 10 lists, with my absolute favourite chick-flicks. If you are, like me, solo for V-day, get yourself some chocolate and indulge in a good cry-fest. (Or, alternatively, if you also lack emotions like me, you can sit there and pretend to cry. That’s what I do in place of tears.) Oh and, just as a reminder, these are counted down in a backwards fashion.

Top 10 Chick-Flicks


10. Remember Me (2010)

I’m sure that no one expected this to be on my list; Robert Pattinson isn’t exactly my favourite actor on the planet (for the most part, the Twilight franchise ruined him for me). However, Remember Me is a really beautiful movie with a shattering ending. Relevant info: it is also one of only three movies on this list I actually shed tears for.


9. The Back-Up Plan (2010)

Also another surprise, I’m sure. Jennifer Lopez may not be the world’s best actress, but this movie was hilarious and sweet, and Alex O’Loughlin…God help me.


8. The Wedding Planner (2001)

What would a chick-flicks list be without a movie that starred Matthew McConaughey? This one’s an oldie but a goodie, with some truly laugh-out-loud moments. (Also, spoilers: there is more McConaughey on this list.)


7. The Proposal (2009)

Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds have surprisingly awesome chemistry, and this movie also includes Betty White. It is, naturally, guaranteed to be funny. (Cried tears of laughter, for serious.) As Raj, from The Big Bang Theory, would say: “you know Sandy B always brings it!”


6. Ghosts of Girlfriends Past (2009)

I told you Matthew McConaughey would appear multiple times on this list. Ghosts of Girlfriends Past is one of my favourite movies with him in it; it’s just the right combination of funny and emotional. Plus, it has Michael Douglas in it. That man is just kick-ass.


5. A Walk to Remember  (2002)

This movie needs no blurb. You watch it and you cry. Always. Every time. This includes me. (In other news, what ever happened to Shane West?! And is it news to anyone else that this movie was actually made after The Wedding Planner?)


4. 10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

 Another movie that really needs no blurb. It’s at once a “teen” movie and a chick-flick, and I think is the movie on this list that has the most resonance. (Thirteen years later, and it’s still one of my absolute favourites.) Plus it stars Heath Ledger and a young Joseph Gordon-Levitt.


3. How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days (2003)

Another one that needs no blurb. From the love fern to Kroll the Warrior King to  the BULL-SHIT!, this movie is absolute perfection. If you don’t love it, we’re not friends anymore. (And I will never, ever understand you.)


2. Love Happens (2009)

I’m sure this isn’t an obvious choice, because for the most part I haven’t been very explicit about my love for this movie. I saw it just this year and it was just incredibly touching. Aaron Eckart isn’t, by any means, my favourite actor (and I’ll always see him as Two-Face from Batman), but he was perfect for this role. Plus Jennifer Aniston is always wonderful in anything she does. Also, the fashion was amazing. Oh, and I actually wept like a baby during this movie. Like, straight up bawled.


1. Jane Eyre (2011)

Another unusual choice, since I saw this movie for the first time in January. But not only was it a fabulous adaptation of a book, it was beautifully shot and the on-screen chemistry between Jane (Mia Wasikowska) and Mr. Rochester (Michael Fassbender) was just out of this world. They couldn’t have done a better job in terms of casting (I think I fell in love with Mia as much as I did with Fassy). Also, the day after I saw it for the first time I ran out to HMV and bought it (and I never buy movies).

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

– Kelsey

(I promise, I’ll be returning to our regularly scheduled book-talks very soon. Or maybe not very soon, but as soon as I get through Atonement.)

2 thoughts on “Feature: Top 10 Tuesday — The Best Chick-Flicks

  1. Aww! Lots of our movie night movies are here! Great list! All if these movies are awesome and great

Leave a Reply

