Some articles for you to read

Today has been kind of a bookish day for me. (Although, to be fair, what day isn’t a bookish day?) I took the ferry out to Ward Island, found a cool, shady place to sit, and got a head start on Captain Corelli’s Mandolin. It’s a fun book so far. A choice quote:

“WHO LET THAT CAT IN HERE? SINCE WHEN HAVE WE HAD A PALACE CAT? IS THAT THE CAT THAT SHAT IN MY HELMET? YOU KNOW I CAN’T STAND CATS. WHAT DO YOU MEAN, IT SAVES ON MOUSETRAPS? DON’T TELL ME WHEN I CAN OR CANNOT USE MY REVOLVER INDOORS. STAND BACK OR YOU’LL CATCH A BULLET TOO” (de Bernieres 18).

Aside from that, I found two articles worth sharing. First, check out Natalie Ramm’s “In Defense of Romance Novels” on Thought Catalog, which is an infinitely more eloquent and clever defence of the romance genre than what I offered several months ago.

Secondly, look at Mark Medley’s op-ed in the National Post, entitled “How I put my library on a diet.” I pity the future roommate/boyfriend/husband who has to ask me to do the same. I can tell you now it won’t go well.

I guess I’ll see you again when I finish Captain Corelli’s Mandolin. Given the size of the book I don’t think I’ll be done for another day or so.

– Kelsey

Leave a Reply

